Mompiche

February 9, 2012 at 2:11 am Leave a comment

Last call from Mompiche. Since more than 2 months I’m helping my brother to build a new home for his future life here in Mompiche. And today, 3 days before leaving, I felt down from the ladder. Bump.

I left TelAviv the 1st December. It took me 4 days to come here and to see my brother, Christian, and Dani who were waiting for me in a nice Shag straight at the beach. I held my little birthday party with my brother! Mompiche is a surfer village and I thought that I’ll learn to surf and that I’ll have plenty of leisure time when I’m here.

Reality is that I had to work from 8 to 5 in a difficult environment. Wet, muddy, sometimes hot and every time surrounded by mosquitos and sandflies. Repellent is my new friend. On the other side I learned so many new things that will help me in the future when I build a house or whatever. I’m so thankful that I had the chance to stand each day with local builders on site and I could practice my Spanish and get insight into there life. I’m talking about Pichin, Cucamama, Mocho, Santiago, la Mona and all the other guys I know now from the village.

RIMG2796 that’s how it looked when I came the first time to the building site.
4th December
IMG_0317
and that’s what I did since then. Using things…
RIMG3046
RIMG2984 RIMG2988
RIMG3011 up: our lovely workers chill out
weld:  water level has increased to a confortable level

 

After I’ve been 1 month together with Dani and Tobi they left us because they wanted to continue their journey. Dani, the ganger, did a amazing job during the last 8 months. He was the constructor, technician and everything else. With his talent his able to build a house by his own.

RIMG3048 one of Dani’s masterpieces
RIMG2903 my family for December.
Tobi, Dani and Christian
RIMG2899 watching sunset was one of our evening highlight

 

I’ve to mention Dani’s talents as a chef too. Almost every evening after a long hard day he started to cook and he enchanted us with incredible good dishes. In Mompiche you get the freshest fruits and vegetables and 20 m from our front door the fisherman, who had their little harbor on the sandy beach, brought twice a day fresh fish. We just had to help them a little bit with picking out the fishes from the net, what is actually very difficult. Or we just bought one pound for 1 dollar. And because my brother has a garden, we had also ruccola, a 2nd italian salad and different spices.

IMG_0269 RIMG2913
baby shark sushi is delicious!

 

The 7th January my father came visiting us. We picked him up in Quito, were we stud a few days to get around and to acclimate him. And for me to cool down. What actually completely failed. It lighted a fire.
Anyway, seeing my father after 8 months is just wonderful and telling him all the stories I experienced (not all of courseWinking smile) was great. And because he is a experienced carpenter his help was highly welcome to us. Seeing him feeling each day more confortable with Christians dream and the nice small things that can be discovered in Mompiche I am fully satisfied that I pushed him into this this and to stay with us in Ecuador. But I know also very good that he is very happy to be home soon!

RIMG2917 He is so proud of his new camera.
IMG_0097 We behaved like tourists in Quito, to enjoy company. 
IMG_0244 yes, Papi is afraid from water!

 

Ruben and Christian’s house is now almost finished. However, a dream like this is never really finished and to live in confortable, it’s still a bunch of work. Christian will come back to Mompiche in 3 months to continue with the interior work and to fill the inside with life and color. When I will be back to this wonderful small world is not clear yet. But I will keep this experience as something incredible that gave me new influence. I never though that I will never ever be part of something like that.

RIMG3058 RIMG3060
security is important
RIMG3056
who really needs a third bathroom?
RIMG3053
RIMG3043 status quo on the ground floor. It’s not finished yet – out workers are advised to finish it within the next weeks. It’s not that much work anymore, but because Mompiche is not part of the western world I think Christian has to push it on again when he is back.

 

Using the circular saw and all the other heavy duty was at the beginning very scary. But from the point on when I was constructing something (kitchen, ledge, shutter, etc.) then all the tools became handy and I felt very confortable. And my vertigo is not that strong anymore. That’s probably why I felt from the ladder.

Entry filed under: Roadbook. Tags: .

Golan Heights

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Herzlich willkommen zu meinem kleinen Blog. Noch weiss ich nicht, was und wie ich das machen will mit diesem Medium. Ich ändere regelmässig meine Ansichten, wozu den das dienen soll. Im moment nutze ich es als Fotoalbum. Für Fahrradreisende als Infosite auszubauen wär schon was. Mal schauen.

Recent Posts

Einträge

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

